Arctic Monkeys’ confirm sixth album set for 2018 release


Arctic Monkeys have started recording their sixth studio album, set for release next year, bassist Nick O’Malley has announced.

O’Malley revealed the recording process had begun this month in a secret location, and that the release date will be 2018 – saying that “if it isn’t, we’ve got problems”.

The as yet untitled album will be the band’s first since 2013’s AM, which reached No 1 in the UK charts and featured singles including Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High? and the Grammy-nominated Do I Wanna Know? The group announced a hiatus following the completion of the AM tour in 2014.

During Arctic Monkeys’ break, frontman Alex Turner has been working with his other band, the Last Shadow Puppets, a group that includes Merseyside songwriter Miles Kane, bassist Zach Dawes and producer James Ford, one half of electronic duo Simian Mobile Disco. Drummer Matt Helders meanwhile contributed to Iggy Pop’s recent album Post Pop Depression, which also featured Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age.

In April, photographs posted on Instagram suggested the band were working together in Los Angeles, but the rumours of a new album were not confirmed.

We’ll post more details about the upcoming album when available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ankara escort